Eyes on the Other Seattle Rapper – SOL’s “Old Him”

Yes, we all understand Macklemore & Ryan Lewis’ greatness at this point (if you haven’t, you need to listen to The Heist right now). Not to undermine that awesome album in anyway, but it’d be nice to shine a little light on our other Seattle stud who is away right now. Sol’s world tour led him to India and when he was there, due to some food poisoning from KFC, he wrote “Old Him” on a night train, got it recorded in India and produced in Seattle, all while he was sick. If that’s not some damn hard work, I don’t know what is. This track comes off different than most of Sol’s tracks of late. This one is very very chill and smooth as shit.

I like a whole bunch of Sol’s music, but this track is probably my favorite as of now. The lyrics and message behind this song are so damn strong. You can almost feel like there is a difference in the way Sol operates himself now and off of his blog, he says a bit about how India has changed him, saying

“India is one of those places that will undoubtedly change your life. The man I was before I landed in Delhi and the man I am now, after having spent two months traveling around the country, are strangers in many ways.”

Meaning of the song essentially wants to put across his humbled experience and the things that he noticed while he was there, but it’s better to just read the lyrics yourself and make what you want out of it. Mad respect to Sol though, for going through this change and being humbled by the experience of travel. Come home soon Sol, we need to see you.

LYRICS:

8,000 miles from home
Still I hold it down for my folk
Surrounded by nothing but brown skin
Nothing but love, from the village to the township

My heart feels weak enough to give up
Sometimes tears flow quicker than the river
Smiles get thinner
Mouths don’t get dinner
And somehow we build houses even bigger.
Back home, my homie bought a Cadillac,
Out here, that’s cash enough to bring the dead back.

My belly’s empty, and not because it’s Ramadan,
I simply lost my appetite seeing children starve.
That’s what’s really hard, not your silly bars.
Not your grill, not your car, not the pills you pop.
Marvin said it, you better know what’s goin’ on and
Life’s a question; answer when the song ends
Answer when the world ends
Dance until the Earth spins
If the music stops, we’ll get planted in the dirt quick

Word is they talkin’ ’bout us.
They say we almost famous
Guess I forgot about it when I bought this plane ticket

More humble than he’s ever been
Sun up on his golden skin
Feelin’ something like a fugitive,
Something like a fugitive,
Runnin’ from the old him.
Represent enlightenment forever young, learning from the light within.
Yeah, something like a fugitive, something like a fugitive
Runnin’ from the old him.

I never dreamed to be a rap star
I never saved up for a fast car
But I did act selfish a bit
Buy stupid shit, and waste the tools that I had.
Sold out shows, money in the bank,
But my ego not sold, at least I don’t think.

But who am I to say? You tell me, ever change?
And if I have a pray it’s for the better, in Jesus’ name.
All lil’ Krishna everything, smokin’ hash on the back waters, King Fisher drank.
Thinkin’ bigger thoughts than you ever think,
And if you seen what I seen
Then you God damn better change.

Donated thousands for the earthquake,
Still, I felt helpless in a higher place.
Searching for a purpose when I’m buying drinks,
Buying clothes, seein’ people die is gettin’ kinda old.

More humble than he’s ever been
Sun up on his golden skin
Feelin’ something like a fugitive,
Something like a fugitive,
Runnin’ from the old him.
Represent enlightenment, forever young, learning from the light within.
Yeah, something like a fugitive, something like a fugitive
Runnin’ from the old him.

Read up on Sol’s experience in his own words:
http://www.solsays.com/


Leave a Reply

