Beat Kills Straight Outta Washington: Odesza’s “How Did I Get Here”

I feel so proud seeing a track from a Washington-based group explode across the scene and have people love it. I am a bit late in getting a hold of this track, but “How Did I Get Here” is really damn good. Odesza is a two-man squad that has producers BeachesBeaches and Catacombkid joining forces, coming from Washington (Hell-yeah Northwest baby!). I was scrolling through some music blogs and then I clicked play on this one track and damnnnnn. I was blown away. Two minutes of pure bliss. Odesza has their new album, “Summer’s Gone”, coming soon and holy hell am I excited to see what they have to offer. I just found this group a few minutes ago and I already have nothing but praise for this great track. Using vocal samples from Lily Allen’s track “22”, the track was chopped and mixed in with these absolutely magical beats. Allen’s amazing voice with these abstract and smooth beats will leave you just inebriated. The real cool thing about this track is that “22” lyrics seems a lot different when chopped by Odesza. “How Did I Get Here” only uses these lyrics:

How did I get here/

It’s sad but it’s true how society says her life is already over/

There’s nothing to do and there’s nothing to say

Lily Allen’s track (right here) portrays the idea of ” girls that haven’t figured out what they want to do with themselves. Especially really pretty girls. They can rely on their looks to an extent” (source). The vibe of that specific song doesn’t really give off the hard reality that is true for many girls, but those specific lyrics just in “How Did I Get Here” makes it so much more significant. So in a way, Odesza makes Allen’s song even better. Listen to “22” and then to “How Did I Get Here” and it seems like the latter makes more of an impact on the matter.

I get this kind of late night-ish/early morning feel that just makes me want to do some damn exploring in some dark places. Well I could do that, but it’s just as nice sitting and letting myself fade away and relax to this song. “How Did I Get Here” just has that Washington feel to it. I don’t even know what that means, but with our weather and landscape, it just feels right. The album’s title is just perfect too. It does feel like summer is winding down and this song is just perfect set-up and transition into the fall, rainy months. This is definitely a track I’ll turn to for some thinking time.

These Washington artists came together just a couple months ago, but I’ll be looking forward to seeing what they got. Head over to their respective pages and check them out! It’s awesome supporting the local scene and this is some awesome stuff that is worth your time. (Also by the time I finished this post, I already listened to the song 15 times, it’s just that good)

Hey we also got an interview with them!

Check out BeachesBeaches:
 Soundcloud Profile

Facebook

Catacombkid:

Website

Facebook

AND their joint group ‘Odesza’:

Soundcloud Profile

Facebook


4 responses to “Beat Kills Straight Outta Washington: Odesza’s “How Did I Get Here”

Leave a Reply

