Two Door Cinema Club’s New “Sleep Alone”

Two Door Cinema Club, the Irish, Indie Rock band is out fresh a couple days ago with “Sleep Alone”. They’ve actually have had this song for about a year now, but it is the first single from their upcoming album “Beacon” comes this fantastic effort following their insane premiere with their first album “Tourist History”. They’ve already set the bar pretty damn high with infectious hits such as “Something Good Can Work” or “What You Know” and coming off of great works like that, it’d be pretty hard to live up to. But the trio has definitely not lost their energetic, upbeat sound with this fresh track. 

From the start of the drums and the song, it definitely pulls the listener in. The hook of the song is very enticing and then sets the stage for the listener to listen and enjoy the rest of the song. While not as dance-y as “Something Good Can Work”, there is something just as contagious about the song. I personally like the parts where he says ‘Hold, hold , hold’ or where he stretches out ‘mind’ later in the song. The whole song just fits together, and is so damn appealing whether it be from the tinkling guitars, catchy vocals  or just that damn beat that keeps your head bobbing from its energy. Two Door Cinema Club still has it going on, especially with “Sleep Alone” and is for sure a great listen.

Now regarding the lyrics, reading them, you can get a bit of an insight about where the band comes from. Coming out of Northern Ireland, they actually left the Bangor Grammar school to pursue their musical interests. So taking a look at the lyrics, one can see that their musical pursuit comes from their confidence and passion to go and grab their dream of making music. That comes true in the chorus when it’s said that “He sleeps alone….And they can’t hurt him if he can’t see them, oh…The deepest desires in my mind”. Essentially the song’s meaning acts as a basic round-up of TDCC’s own confidence and courage to go out and grab what they desire most. Nice stuff:

LYRICS

Now, my only goal is to see
And I’m always fast asleep
It takes more than strength to find
This peace of mind

So I’ll hold, hold, hold
Hold it close to my heart
Beating with every step
Hold, hold, hold it close

(REFRAIN) 
He sleeps alone
He needs no army where he’s headed
‘Cause he knows
That they’re just ghosts
And they can’t hurt him if he can’t see them, oh
And I may go 
To places I have never been to 
Just to find
The deepest desires in my mind

We, we only know what we see
‘Cause we’re always fast asleep
Is it so hard not to believe
That we’ll never know

Oh, hold, hold, hold
Hold me close
I’ve never been this far from home
Hold, hold, hold me close
He sleeps alone
He needs no army where he’s headed
‘Cause he knows
That they’re just ghosts
And they can’t hurt him if he can’t see them, oh
And I may go 
To places I have never been to 
Just to find
The deepest desires in my mind

They’re in my head
And I have said
That I must be like you now
Who sleeps alone (x2)
And one last chance
To make sense
Of what has long escaped us
He sleeps alone
I sleep alone

He sleeps alone
He needs no army where he’s headed
‘Cause he knows
That they’re just ghosts
And they can’t hurt him if he can’t see them, oh
And I don’t know if in the morning I will be here
And if so
Let it be known
That I was worthy, I was worthy, I was worthy, I was
Oh(x2)

 

Like Life After Nirvana on Facebook!


Leave a Reply

