Matt & Kim’s Latest Masterpiece-“Let’s Go”

Matt-Kim-Lets-Go

Hot damn! Guess who is backkkkkkkkkkk??? Here comes Matt & Kim, the poppy duo from Brooklyn, New York. After their fantastic effort on their ‘SideWalks’ album, a year and a half later, they’re releasing their fresh, new track “Let’s Go”. And I can say, this is probably my favorite track by them. Their new album, ‘Lighting’, that comes out this fall should be gooooood. Giving us a little preview with “Let’s Go”, definitely has signs pointing to a freaking awesome album. Thinking that Matt & Kim have already gotten to the peak of their sound, I saw this song and wasn’t expecting a killer track like “Daylight” or “Cameras” had been, but giving it a listen…already my favorite song by them. I have said that a lot in the past regarding their songs, but this one is legitimately their best effort.

Usually hitting us up with insanely poppy beats up in your face, this one is actually a bit more chill. While maintaining their poppy sound, I actually think they have grown a lot. Listening to their starting songs and comparing to “Let’s Go” really shows their development as a band. Going beyond the expectations of critics who said they would forever be a raw, unclean type of noise, “let’s Go” really shows that they know what they’re doing now. The beat to this song is catchy as fuck. Seriously. I can’t single anything out, but the drums, and the synths flow together perfectly to make a chill, peaceful sound. I especially enjoy the bongos in the background though, they’re pretty damn fresh and make a nice B-Boy beat too haha. Matt ‘s singing has actually gotten a lot better and if I am not mistaken, Kim provides her own as well. This is pretty significant, you don’t hear her often! The meaning of pretty much all Matt & Kim songs have been about not really caring and just living life to it’s fullest extent, which I have always appreciated. Check them out for yourself! Also it is pretty cool to note that the song was featured on the new Sony Xperia Ion smart phone. First day song is released and already featured on a commercial? Pretty good!

LYRICS:

I was up in my head
For everything I said
A quarter million words
They’re all made with lead
I bought a megaphone
To use inside your home
Forgot the batteries
But that’s the old me

Shouting out
Of my windows
Rolled down
‘Cause I don’t care
Anymore
said I don’t care.

Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go
Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go

I’m standing on the top
Of a parking lot
I gave it all I had
Show me what you got
There’s some things I found
That make so much sound
All these words
I don’t need ’em now

Shouting out
Of my windows
Rolled down
‘Cause I don’t care
Anymore
said I don’t care.

Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go
(hey hey hey hey)
Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go

Say what you wanna say
Make it mean everything
oh, Say what you wanna say
Make it mean everything
Say what you wanna say
Make it mean everything
oh, Say what you wanna say

Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go
(hey hey hey hey)
Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go
(hey hey hey hey)
Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go

Say what you wanna say
Make it mean everything
oh, Say what you wanna say
Make it mean everything
Say what you wanna say
Make it mean everything
oh, Say what you wanna say

Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go Let’s Go

This song is hella good. Chill, but still poppy. Be careful though, it gets insanely catchy and really easy to continue to listen to. This comes at a perfect time too. Summer of 2012. This song epitomizes what I want for this summer. And I’ll make sure it happens, with this song in the back. 

Buy Let’s Go on itunes! It is worth it.

Like LifeAfterNirvana on Facebook!


2 responses to “Matt & Kim’s Latest Masterpiece-“Let’s Go”

Leave a Reply

