Introductions + Ed Sheeran

Right now you’re probably wondering what I mean by ‘introductions’. Well, I’m not here to introduce a band (yet), I’m here to introduce myself. My name’s Susie Yankou and this is my very first post on Life After Nirvana! There are a few things you should know about me if we’re going to be friends (which we are):

1. I’m Canadian. What’s up.

2. I’m a music addict. I grew up singing and writing songs and have since picked up guitar, piano and trumpet. Being a singer/songwriter myself, I love discovering new music, creating music, seeing live music… You get the idea.

3. I love pop. There are a lot of guys that contribute to this site who have the lo-down on awesome indie/alternative/rock/metal/any other genre, but as long as it’s catchy, I like it. Pop music is where it’s at. That being said, I am a lover of all genres, so you can expect more than your typical top 40 pop updates from me!

4. I have a weird obsession with British music. I will literally browse the BBC music charts every week to see what’s hot in the UK and listen to all of the songs that I haven’t heard of. You can expect a lot of updates on British artists, because they have so much good stuff going on over there.

That’s all you need to know for now. I think this officially makes us friends. And to kick off our friendship and prove that I’m not all talk, let me share with you one of my favourite British artists out there right now.

His name is Ed Sheeran, and his style is the perfect blend of acoustic, pop and hip-hop music. His debut album “+” has been massive in the UK and now he’s touring North America opening for Snow Patrol, trying to make a name for himself over here. “+” is due out on June 12th in US, but the entire thing is available online, since it was released in Britain in the fall.

One of my favourite tracks off of the album is a super-catchy tune called Drunk. It’s got a great hook, and some fantastic wordplay in the lyrics. Give it a listen!


Leave a Reply

