All the Best Sixties Bands Were “The Somethings”

A couple of years back on St. Patrick’s Day I was hanging out at home with my family. Naturally, at the ripe young age of 14 I was drinking myself into a stupor with cans of 7-up and Sprite (the cans are green, and that’s really what counts right?). So as my caffeinated self began to trudge up the stairs back to the solace of my room, my mother informed me that we would be watching a family movie tonight. Ugh mom, anything, ANYTHING, but a family movie.

Spoiler alert, the movie was awesome. In lieu of Kevin’s post on my friend Mr. Wolfy Bauer, I present to you, the creators of Dublin Soul, The Commitments. Both a movie and a band, The Commitments is/are amazing. To keep the summary short, Jimmy Rabbitte sets himself on a quest to bring soul to Dublin and to create the “World’s Hardest Working Band”. You might be a bit hard-pressed to find a whole lot of symbolism or deep meaning in the plot, but I have yet to see a more honest movie. You get this awesome mixture of the whole Irish lifestyle, with the passion and energy behind the soul music scene. Mr. Rabbitte describes it perfectly in this quote: “The Irish are the blacks of Europe. And Dubliners are the blacks of Ireland. And the Northside Dubliners are the blacks of Dublin. So say it once, say it loud: I’m black and I’m proud.”

The film itself is riddled with great music redone by the Commitments such as Take Me to the River and Destination Anywhere. The great music working with the constant humor ranging from subtle satire to the quick-witted jibes the band members fling at each other at all times of the movie (I believe its customary for every Irish conversation to include one “Piss off”).

What really makes the movie is the amazing music. It’s amazing how well the transition of Black American soul to Dublin soul goes. The Irish spin adds this raw and rowdy feel to the music that’s already a direct result of binge drinking. The movie’s a bit long but feels great in the end. If you’re looking for a feel-good with tons of great music definitely check this movie out.


Leave a Reply

