The Neptune Brings You Cults!! A Concert Review

April 7th, 2012. That night will definitely go down in my memory as one the greatest  nights of my young life. Going to see one of my favorite bands of all time with some super tight people? Just sets the stage for a great night. So, CULTS!!! Man, I love these guys. Been a huge fan after hearing “Go Outside” a couple years back. It has been a great pleasure watching them grow popular and create great music, because they deserve it for the great music they make. So yesterday at The Neptune Theater in Seattle, I finally got to see them. And I can say they definitely did NOT disappoint. Absolutely fantastic. (This pic wasn’t anyone preforming yesterday by the way, just an idea of the venue)

Knowing how to work a crowd, Cults featured two artists before them, just to make the crowd wait. I’d like to say I liked both bands, but really, one of them sucked really bad and I couldn’t wait for them to leave the stage. Coupled with the Cults were Mrs. Magician and Spectrals.

Starting the night off was Mrs. Magician. To be blunt, I hated this band. Now, I respect them for what they’re doing, creating music, going after their dream, but really, I did not like them. A big problem throughout the night for all the bands were the vocals. It was SO hard to hear what the singers were saying. They kept on getting drowned out by the guitars and drums. It was very difficult to hear and that was probably the second most disappointing part of the night. First was the choice of letting this band play. Seriously, they were bad. I’m sorry, but in my opinion, I just flat out did not like the band. Really loud. Like very loud. It wasn’t good though. So you already have a problem with the sound of the vocals, but this band just tried to come in and bring the house down. They failed to do so. I saw more people covering their ears than rocking out with the band. I’m not sure what it was, but there was something about this band that I didn’t really like as they were coming out. Swaggering out and spitting like they owned the stage. They jumped right into their songs with a ferociousness that wasn’t really expected. The problem I had with them was that everything just sounded so generic. There were times when I was listening to them that I felt like they belonged on some Radio Disney stuff. Things I have heard hundreds of times before. Absolutely no originality in their sound. It felt like they were trying to be some beach rock band at one point and then a hard rock band at another. I may be wrong about what genre they are, but last night I didn’t really care whether or not I was right. It was just loud noise with some sort of garble coming from whatever the hell the singer was trying to say. I feel bad about bashing on Mrs. Magician, but I just did not like them. They were just way too loud and generic, nothing that I would even want to rock out to. If I can say one positive thing though, I can say I liked their drummer. Yes some of my like for him has to do with him reminding me of a young Darryl from the Walking Dead and Neil Patrick Harris, but whatever. There was a song where he substituted one of his drum sticks for a maraca, which I thought was very creative. Sounded pretty cool combined with the snare drum. So I pretty much didn’t like them. I was disappointed that they had to start off, but hey, maybe Cults were pretty smart after all. Start with the worst and build up to them. The next band that came up were the Spectrals.

This is a band that I really liked. Coming from England, is the Spectrals. They definitely made up for the terrible performance by Mrs. Magician. Coming out at first, I have to admit, this band looked goofy as hell. I mean the lead singer reminded me of Carrot Top (well at least his hair). I wasn’t expecting much out of them, but man did they blow me away. They were awesome! I had a lot of fun watching them. As soon as they started playing though, I started to pay attention. I mean they were good! It was definitely enhanced by the fact that they played softer than the previous band, but they still were good. Just a fun sound, and pretty chillax, without trying to overpower the crowd. The crowd didn’t really get into them at first, but after their first song, Spectrals had the crowd, myself included just hooked. Their sound was just so happy sounding and their lead singer had this awesome accent. This band is just so easy to cheer and root for, they’re like little underdogs, and everyone loves underdogs! I’m not calling them that, because their sound was bigger than the way they seemed. They pulled me in, I don’t know why to be honest. Within a couple songs, pretty much the entire crowd was clapping along and enjoying the performance. It was just a fun performance and they dug down and found the energy that was in the crowd. Huge props to them and I can’t do anything but sing praise for them. The band was just adorable (can’t think of anything else) and I loved watching them. The thing that I really liked about them was their ability to connect with the crowd. Of the three bands, they made the most effort to ask the crowd what was up and thank them for the cheers. Now onto my personal favorite part of their show. Their bass player. This man, Thomas Dean, is not even a part of the band, but he is just touring with them. I fucking love this man. Throughout the ENTIRE performance, he was ROCKING out hardcore. And listening to the Spectrals, it doesn’t even make sense for him to be rocking. It does not match their sound at all. But I really appreciated it. I enjoyed watching him just sweat like a mad man, bounce around, and rock back and forth. It was such a joy seeing someone just go at it, without the slightest worry of looking ridiculous. My friends and I called him “BassGod” during the show and he had no problem with, it, even giving us highfives for it. After the show most of the band came out and they were talking with the fans, so I enjoyed that. But Mr. BassGod was kind enough to even give me a free CD of his own band. I won’t forget this band’s performance.

BASSGOD!

Now to the band that the entire crowd had been waiting for: Cults. Two hours after the show technically began, they finally came out to the screams of the crowd. Now I’ve been following this band for a long time and getting to finally see them? I had my hopes up pretty high. And I can say they were not disappointed. Cults were AMAZING! From start to finish, they had the crowd absolutely hooked. People were hanging onto every word, bouncing and following every song. Everything about the show was great, the vocals (drowned out a bit, but still good), the sick lighting, the sound, and most of all the atmosphere. The energy was absolutely electric when they came onto the stage. Everyone was feeling it. Madeline Follin looked damn intimidating up there and about ready to bring the house down. And that’s exactly what happened. Opening song to the time they left the stage, the crowd was either jumping, screaming, clapping, cheering or whatever else a bunch of drunk people do. Man that performance was the greatest one I have ever seen and just being in the crowd and rocking with my friends was hella fun. Now to their set list. Starting out with Abducted, they went to The Curse, Never Heal Myself, Most Wanted, You Know What I Mean, Bumper, Never Saw The Point, Rave On, Everybody Knows, Walk At Night, everyone’s favorite: Go Outside, and finally Oh My God. I wish I could go into full detail about every single song, but I can just spare going into a few. I did love every single one though.

Abducted

Walking out onto the stage to the screams of the crowd, this was the perfect song to play. First starting out softly before leading into the drums; when this point came, I could see many people just start rocking out and I realized that the problem with understanding the lyrics were over. Everyone sang along to the parts that they knew. Combining the voices of several hundred people made a really cool environment. The song was just the fit. Singing along to the chorus was just great. Bouncing up and down to it was fun as well!

You Know What I Mean

One of their nice soft songs, listening to this live was just cool. I could just feel the crowd swaying back and forth which was cool. The song’s chorus (like all of their chorus’ are) was quite enjoyable to sing along to. I don’t really know what else to say about this one except that it was really good.

Go Outside

Okay, I’ll admit that I’ve been pretty lazy on the other song posts, but I’m pretty sure a lot of people just want to know how the hit song went. Worry about whether the high notes would be hit, if the Jim Jones intro would be the same, yada yada yada. Don’t worry. This song was spot on live. The crowd crooning along was just awesome, I could hear just about everybody in their singing along and really belting “I really want to go out. I really want to go outside” Whenever the chorus hit, I could just feel the energy rise into something I haven’t felt before. Everyone singing with the same amount of passion. Damn, that was just sick. There was nothing whiney about Follin’s voice or any lack from her part. She was spot on. And the fading parts to the song with the last few xylophone hits just made the hair on my neck stand up. Seriously amazing.

Cults left the stage to roaring cheers that were clearly well deserved. I will NEVER forget this night, as the concert was the greatest one I have ever been to hands down. Props to all the bands that played and especially to the electric crowd. No doubt about this concert though, if I had another chance to go see Cults, I wouldn’t hesitate for one second.

Like Cults on Facebook!

Like Spectrals on Facebook!

Like Mrs. Magician on Facebook!

Like US on Facebook!

(ALL PHOTO CREDITS GO TO JOE NGUYEN)


Leave a Reply

