Richie Cunning-Pure Imagination

Wow. Just wow. That’s all I can say about this song. Casually introduced to me by a friend, I gave it a listen, not sure what to expect. I was a bit tentative on listening because rap isn’t big for me. But man, giving this track a full listen and I was absolutely hooked. Richie Cunning = Brilliance. This song, called “Pure Imagination” is golden. The song is so damn good. Respect to Mr. Cunning on laying down killer lyrics on a great beat.
Coming out of San Francisco, Richie Cunning doesn’t seem to be very well known outside his hometown. But I say that with caution because, there is no way for me to know whether that is true or not. Maybe it’s because he seems to surround himself in a shrewd of mystery. I really don’t know anything about him. Hell even the bio on his website says:
In this world, there is a man that you will not find in any history books or credit reports. He cannot be seen with the human eye at “the mall” or “the club”. He is known only as Richie Cunning and there are very few people that even know of his existence.
That’s it. That’s as much as I know about him. There’s more in the bio about the circumstances of a situation, but it seems like the surroundings of some average person. Is that who Richie Cunning is? I have no freaking clue. I’m not sure if he is trying to just making himself out as just an average joe and similar to everyone else, but he’s not doing very well at it. IF you’re making awesome music, I don’t think you can fit in with everyone else. Serious respect to Mr. Cunning.
Now I want to focus on his track, “Pure Imagination”. This song is sooooo damn good. The song starts out very interesting. Coming in with with the conversation between a boy and his father, this is what it says:
-“Do I have talent Dad?”
“Of course you have talent. You have all the talent in the world.”
-“Can I be a baseball player?”
“You can be anything you wanna be. Remember the saddest thing in life is wasting talent. You can have all the talent in the world, but if you don’t do the right thing, then nothing happens. But when you do right, guess what? Good things happen, you hear me?”
Now that right there is absolutely brilliant. Leading with that sets the stage for the listener to infer that this could’ve happened to Richie. It seems like he had thought about what this man said to his son and took it to heart and utilized the talent he had for rapping and finally put it to use. Good thing too. The man speaks the truth. Richie really has crazy talent. His lyrics are laid down on a really chill beat that you can rock to, but that is second class compared to the lyrics. Holy hell, as I listen to the song, I can just imagine Mr. Cunning giving everything that he has into the song. His lyrics speak true and I feel like I can actually understand the struggles that he goes through. The song follows the basic idea of Richie losing his way and not sure of what is going on before realizing that he needs to step up and express everything and try to make his dream come true. Listen to the song and just let the lyrics wash over you and you will see how crafty he was to put that excerpt in the front of his song. Just awesome.
I cannot praise this song enough. I feel the passion that Richie has put into this song and I just love that. The dark and somber tone of the song that switches into something more wistful and feel good mixed with the great lyrics makes something just magical and poetic. Please give this song a listen and I can say it will not disappoint. Richie Cunning? I bow to you. Keep going.
Just in case you missed the song link from above:
Also, check out his Facebook and website!

Leave a Reply

