“I’d Rather Be With You” – Joshua Radin

Yesterday, I was hanging out with a member of my co-ed film fraternity (you’re gonna hear a lot about this, I’m a pledge and this is my life for a couple months), and we were learning about each other and bonding over Scrubs, a mutual favorite show; we recognize its merits as an inherently cheesy, yet somehow grounded sitcom.

Recent experiences have forced me to evaluate (and continually re-evaluate) my perspective on relationships, of all kinds. Familial relationships, friendly relationships, and, yes, romantic relationships. Scrubs, of course, was the perfect jumping-off point for a conversation about such things.

The active, who’s in a long-term relationship, discussed the key points of successful relationships; I discussed why mine had failed. We compared notes, though she was clearly the more experienced of us.

It got me thinking about Joshua Radin, the singer/songwriter consistently featured on Scrubs (he’s a personal friend of indie music godfather Zach Braff).

His song, “I’d Rather Be With You”, provides a peppy, upbeat setting for lyrics of sadness, solitude and longing, which, not to say that I’m depressed or anything even remotely like that, have recently pervaded my thoughts:

Sitting here, on this lonely dock
Watch the rain play on the ocean top
All the things I feel I need to say
I can’t explain in any other way

I need to be bold
Need to jump in the cold water
Need to grow older with a girl like you
Finally see you are naturally
The one to make it so easy
When you show me the truth
Yeah, I’d rather be with you
Say you want the same thing too

Now here’s the sun, come to dry the rain
Warm my shoulders and relieve my pain
You’re the one thing that I’m missing here
With you beside me I no longer fear

I need to be bold
Need to jump in the cold water
Need to grow older with a girl like you
Finally see you are naturally
The one to make it so easy
When you show me the truth
Yeah, I’d rather be with you
Say you want the same thing too

I could have saved so much time for us
Had I seen the way to get to where I am today
You waited on me for so long
So now, listen to me say:

I need to be bold
Need to jump in the cold water
Need to grow older with a girl like you
Finally see you are naturally
The one to make it so easy
When you show me the truth
Yeah, I’d rather be with you
Say you want the same thing too
Say you feel the way I do

It’s been a crazy couple of days. A lot has happened, or rather, a lot hasn’t happened. Stagnation as opposed to regression, which at times feels worse. But it’s an eternal comfort to know that someone else has been there, too. That’s the beauty of music. We can see ourselves in it, reflect in it, hope in it. It’s a timeless beauty, one that I hope is never lost on society as music continues to evolve (or devolve).

Right-click: Joshua Radin – I’d Rather Be With You (mp3)

About Dylan Visvikis

Dylan Visvikis is a working screenwriter and director in Los Angeles. View all posts by Dylan Visvikis

Leave a Reply

