“Landslide” – Fleetwood Mac (Stevie Nicks)

I’m not one to do this normally. But recent events have encouraged me to contemplate life, purpose, existentialism…

As I sit in my posh Las Vegas hotel room tonight, I recall my afternoon at Big Bear, a California mountain, where I had the chance to process the knowledge I learned this morning, that there was a notable death in the community we’re from. It was a tragedy. It is a tragedy.

Anytime death touches our lives, it’s an opportunity for reflection and improvement. What should we do differently? How does the world change now? And though they are inherently selfish questions, we all ask: What does this mean for me? What should I do now? How does this affect me, if it even affects me at all?

Listening to this song, in addition to a few others, helped me to process those thoughts, answer those questions. Music tends to do that for me.

Hopefully, if you ever reach such a situation, it might be able help you too.

Left-Click To Download

PS: Dixie Chicks and Smashing Pumpkins covered this song quite well. Glee did a decent job as well.

About Dylan Visvikis

Dylan Visvikis is a working screenwriter and director in Los Angeles. View all posts by Dylan Visvikis

Leave a Reply

