Youth Lagoon | “Goodbye Again” (John Denver Cover)

Twenty-two year old Trevor Powers, whose musical venture is called Youth Lagoon, has had a long year. Not because he’s been endlessly touring or pursuing some wild dream, but because of life – the life of a kid going to college, being in love, dealing with heartache, and just living. “Youth Lagoon isn’t me.” says Powers. “It’s merely a part of me. I was in and out of different bands in high school and always tried to define myself by what music I played. I tried to find a sense of meaning by being in a band. But it wasn’t until this last year – when I realized I was more than just music – that I was able to create music that means something to me. And that is Youth Lagoon.”

Throughout the course of 2010, Powers began to write an album about things he had a hard time talking about. He claims that when he tries to talk about it to people, he doesn’t make sense. So he wrote an album about it titled The Year of Hibernation, which is mind blowingly good. Now he has released a cover of John Denver, the song “Goodbye Again”. The song’s bittersweet melody would sound right at home had it appeared on The Year of Hibernation  and retains the passion, sincerity and keyboard-driven exuberance we’ve come to adore over the past year. So despite it belonging to Denver in namesake, “Goodbye Again” ultimately sounds like quintessential Youth Lagoon (which is to say it’s really good). Have a listen to the cover, played live for Sirius XMU, below. His distant, high-pitched voice feels like that of a child, conjured out of nostalgic memories and that painfully earnest chorus cuts deeper for its truth. It’s a truth that’s probably most affective to anyone standing on the cliff of the future, not sure about the leap. Of course, it’s great tune, too.

There are only two reasons why I want to be 21 right now (and no it’s not what you think).

  1. I missed out on seeing Tennis
  2. I won’t be able to see Youth Lagoon on January 19th, 2012 at the Neumos music room because of the age limits. Eff.

Youth Lagoon – Goodbye Again (John Denver cover)


Leave a Reply

