The New Gambino Album is AWESOME. PERIOD.

There’s not much more to say than that. Today, I had to write an essay for my Intro to Cinema class. So I thought to myself, ‘screw the essay, I’m gonna listen to the Childish Gambino album’. So I did. HOT DAMN.

“Fire Fly” speaks to my heart; it speaks to everyone’s. How could it not. It’s the story of a nerdy half-black kid who they used to call “Oreo” and “Faggot” who grew up to be the youngest writer on 30 Rock‘s 1st Season at all of 19 years old, the star of one of the funniest shows on TV (Community), and a bad-ass/hilarious rapper and stand-up comic with a Top 10 iTunes Album at all of 22 years old. It’s a gorgeous story, so personal, told beautifully by a rapper who not only understands great lyrics but also great beats (see the catchy-as-fuck “Heartbeat”)–he co-wrote and co-produced the album with longtime collaborator Ludwig Göransson.

It’s genius, to say the least.

Everyone at film school agrees with me. A few of my friends were lucky enough to see him at Nokia a couple weeks back. They told me it would be this good. I didn’t believe them. Then I listened to the album.

You should too.

PS: As a total choir nerd, I ❤ The choir on “Outside”.

About Dylan Visvikis

Dylan Visvikis is a working screenwriter and director in Los Angeles. View all posts by Dylan Visvikis

Leave a Reply

