This Post Was Inspired By A Tweet

“Sometimes I imagine what my own funeral would be like. Then I stop listening to Radiohead and perk the fuck up.” – @torriezaccor

Yeah, I got a twitter. It was required for a class. Not like I wanted to. But I did. And now it’s kinda inspired me to write a post. That’s not a good sign, I’ve heard. But whatever, it’s happened. To be fair, I am re-tweeting one of my best friends (who has great taste in music b-t-dubs), Torrie. (If you have a twitter, FOLLOW HER. Follow me too. But mostly her.)

So, referencing Torrie’s tweet, I thought of a way that Radiohead could be perky.

Add a uke.

I love this arrangement; it’s full of cognitive dissonance. I love the original song, I love the lyricism. The dark beauty in sad, incorruptible loneliness. And when Ingrid Michaelson sings it, it reveals how dark we all are, even the happiest of us, a theme that recurs through her deceptively peppy songs. It’s beautiful, because it reveals just how flawed we all really are. Dark and twisty and scarred. And lonely.

Right-click to download:

Ingrid Michaelson – Creep (Live Radiohead Cover)

 

About Dylan Visvikis

Dylan Visvikis is a working screenwriter and director in Los Angeles. View all posts by Dylan Visvikis

Leave a Reply

