Introducing London’s Red Kite.

Should you go onto the website of the band Red Kite, you’ll find this interesting epigraph before the lyrics. Read and mull over it.

“Once so common that Shakespeare described London as “a city of Red Kites and Crows”, the Red Kite (Milvus milvus) was persecuted and hunted to extinction throughout the 18th and 19th centuries. Its reintroduction, initiated in 1989 by the RSPB and the Joint Nature Conservation Committee, is now the most successful reintroduction of any bird species in Europe. In 2006 The Independent newspaper reported the first sighting of a Red Kite over London for 150 years”

So what on Earth is one suppose to make out of that? Are these boys so ideologically aligned with the pro nature movement that they’ve proclaimed that as apart of their music? Or perhaps it has to do more with an aspiration that much how Red Kites have now been spotted in London, the band hopes to strike a presence in London too? Well based on the fact that only one song has been released by the band, I think there’s still time to reserve judgement. However, give their one track a spin, and good god you’ll be aching for more.  Fun things to make conjectures about, but let’s get into the music. “Montreal” starts off nicely enough, but what really distinguishes the way the song picks up it’s pace, getting more and more frantic as the forlorn tale of falling in and out of love is played out (and of course there’s that last ditched effort to make things right). That and the fact that I enjoy the noticeable presence of the xylophone (that stuff is always a big plus with me).

Once again, xylophones can really make a song so much more distinguishable due to the novelty of that instrument in an alternative song. “Montreal” is a song about regret and how memories can come back to pierce you right back in the heart, but it’s one of the more upbeat manifestations of this lament, a tough thing to do considering the subject matter. Yet Red Kite pulled it off, and it reminds me of the bittersweetness featured in the movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (Read the sixth paragraph on the link for my constructed connection between this song and the movie) for some reason. The following lyrics of the song is the part I enjoy the most during the song, because that’s when the pace of the song escalates and the place where I can’t help be caught up with this awesome jam.

I remember how it went
I stopped talking to you
You stopped talking to me
When we were twenty three
You drifted to the coast 
I took off for the sea 

(Blogger interjection here: Sorry for the disruption of the lyrics reading pattern you might have gotten settled into, but I really dig this part. Look at the word choice used here, particularly the course of actions the speaker takes versus his former lover. “Drifted” versus “took off”, there are different connotations with these words here, as they imply the sense of force in which person took. To drift to the coast, it has that feeling of settling down…literally to right? I mean drifting back to the coast because one’s done with the unpredictable patterns of the sea.)
We thought that was the end
Of what was you and me

Well then I hit the skids
And you came back around
You took me to a show
And then we went out on the town
We drank a little wine
You told me where you’d been
You told me about the terrors
And the horrors that you’d seen

Well I was out of line
I never meant to bail
I should have watched the waters
When your ship was setting sail
I guess I should have known
That I’d wind up on my own
Well this is an apology
For the man I couldn’t be
Back when we were twenty three

[Bandcamp]


Leave a Reply

