The Songs We Listened To On 9/11/01 and 9/11/11

In honor of the ten year anniversary of the worst American tragedy in my lifetime, as the clock struck midnight tonight, my group of screenwriters seemed to find the perfect song to listen to. It’s mainstream, but it’s good anyway.

It’s the new symbol of a city that once symbolized tragedy. It’s a symbol of hope.

It’s called “Empire State of Mind”.

Ten years ago today, I was running errands with my mom in her car, a 1997 Plymouth Voyager. We stopped by The Home Depot. I was obsessed with a song on the Bruce Springsteen CD, and hated it whenever my mom switched to NPR. So when we left The Home Depot, around 9 or 9:15 in the morning if my memory serves me, my mom switched to NPR. We heard the news. I didn’t know what to think, I was too young to effectively process such a tragedy. So I just asked my mom to switch on Bruce Springsteen’s song. The song was “Born in the USA”. My mom started to cry. I didn’t understand why.

About Dylan Visvikis

Dylan Visvikis is a working screenwriter and director in Los Angeles. View all posts by Dylan Visvikis

Leave a Reply

