Childish Gambino

childishgambino1 500x322 The Mystery of a Fake Childish Gambino

Alright, alright, I know that the last big actor turned rapper was Drake, and his music isn’t exactly my cup of coffee. So I did have some concerns when I heard of Donald Glover’s endeavor into the rap game. Donald Glover as in the Troy guy in the NBC show Community. After stewing on his EP and past work for the past few months, I’ve come to relinquish my doubt and declare Donald Glover…I mean Childish Gambino as a new up and comer in the recent rap trend towards accepting an indie beat. What a better example of this than some of Childish Gambino’s old work? Coming off of an old mixtape called “I Do Not Talk” features a song called “My Girls”, which Childish Gambino doesn’t so much sample THE psychedelic band Animal Collective’s “My Girls”, but literally raps over it! It’s a song that Childish Gambino raps about a variety of things, from his ability to get girls to sleep with him, to his penis (a very common subject you’ll hear in his songs, which I believe to be a weakness of his work so far. One can only make so many puns about the size of his baby maker).

Childish Gambino – My Girls (Lyrical highlights: Ummm…see the last sentence of the previous paragraph)

Now here’s my favorite here, off of Childish Gambino’s latest EP, “Freaks and Geeks” was the song that really got me hooked onto this guy. So it deals with the same topics as mentioned earlier, but what makes it so much better is that there is a certain flair to the way Childish Gambino raps.  I love the beat, LOVE it, especially his flow, but the lyrics get redundant in theme. There’s no denial that they’re shallow, but they’re entertaining and at least moderately clever. Once more though, it’s the beat that makes this song so great.

Childish Gambino – Freaks and Geeks

Freaks and Geeks (Star Slinger Remix) – Childish Gambino

God knows how many samples of Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” are lying around on the internet, but the rap that Childish Gambino fires over the remix is deserving of a listen here.  Adele – Rolling in the Deep (Jamie xx REMIX) ft. Childish Gambino 

In retrospect, I should have seen some of this coming, considering this small, but awesome sample during the ending credits of a Community episode. [Click here]

Download the entire EP for free off of his website.


2 responses to “Childish Gambino

Leave a Reply

